+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default 2009 PC Tuneup thread!

Similar to last years http://www.sluniverse.com/php/vb/tec...cond-life.html thread, this thread will deal with attempting to make your PC feel like it's new, and help run Second Life better! This is specifically a Windows thread, as I am not experienced in Linux or Mac operating systems enough to suggest improvements.

Before you Start
    It's important to know that this is just a guide to attempt to help you, and in no way guarantees that any of this works, tinker at your own risk! If you don't feel comfortable doing any of this, take it to best buy and shell out $100 for them to do it for you.
    Cleaning up your PC may take several hours, or ALL DAY. Please plan accordingly.
    Before we get to any of the software goodness, and PC tunage, it's my duty to tell you to physically dust out your computer. You'll need a Phillips head screwdriver, an air canister, closed eyes or goggles, the ability to hold your breath or a mask, and a general knack for figuring out how to open your PC. You should dust out your computer about every six months, or more frequently if you smoke, or live in a dusty house. Use the screwdriver (or thumb screws if your lucky) to open the side panel of your PC case. Don't touch anything but the case. While you are dusting, if you are using an air canister make sure to hold any fans still. Don't let them spin wildly. You could damage them, or feed voltage back to the motherboard; Most inductive motors can act as generators, and even the smallest static charge can harm components. When dust accumulates on components, they overheat, and are likely to cause the following:
    • Blue Screens of Death
    • Lockups
    • Program crashes
    • Computer restarting
    • Odd glitches

Once we have a physically clean computer, the likelihood of failure for the rest of the cleaning is lowered.
    I suggest running windows update about now.